Travel Necessities!

While traveling is something that is very exciting and enjoyable, it can also be very stressful at times. The hectic hustle and bustle of the airports and the fear that you forget something that you will need leaves travelers anxious before they leave for a trip. Traveling is not supposed to leave you anxious, but excited to explore! So, to prevent these feelings of anxiety here is a list of my top ten traveling necessities…

1. Your Passport! (or some form of identification)

I know this may sound obvious but you would be surprised at how many people forget this, including myself once or twice! You will need your passport if you are traveling outside of the country, however, if you are traveling within your country any form of identification is acceptable. Also don’t forget that you do need to renew your passport after a certain amount of time! Make sure to check the expiration date posted on your passport.

2. Gum

One thing that bugs me and a lot of other people about traveling via airplane is your ears getting plugged! Although gum doesn’t totally prevent this from happening it does help a little bit so you are not completely uncomfortable the entire time. A must need for me if I’m about to get on an airplane! You will easily be able to find a pack of gum in any airport.

3. A camera (even if it’s a disposable one!)

I am a firm believer in taking many pictures when traveling (and in general). While traveling, I always bring a camera with me no matter where I’m going. Whether it is a Polaroid, a disposable camera, or a nice fancy camera bring it! At the end of a trip it is always fun to look back on all of the photos you’ve taken and reminisce on the fun.

4. A good book (or two… or three)

Books books books! I might be biased on this one because I am a total book worm. I love bringing books with me to pass the time on a long flight, train ride, etc.

Some Book Recommendations: Ishmael by Daniel Quinn, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz, and just about any book about topics that interest you!

5. A phone charger

My phone battery never lasts me too long, especially when I have a long day of traveling ahead of me! While I’m not an avid phone user it’s always good to have it charged and ready to go, especially while traveling, you never know when you may need it. Remember to bring your phone charger to prevent this from happening.

6. Socks

I always, always, always bring socks when I am traveling via airplane for two reasons. One, TSA always makes you take your shoes off for the security check and I would just hate to walk on the floor on the airport barefoot. Two, once I get on the plane my feet always get chilly, so it’s nice to have some socks at hand just in case.

7. A travel journal

Just like taking photos, I am also a firm believer in owning a travel journal, and a journal in general. I personally love the idea of being able to look back and read about all of my adventures that I’ve had throughout my life.

8. Sunglasses

Because I don’t always look the best after long flights (who does) and need something to cover my face up when I land!

9. Snacks & Water

This may seem like an obvious one, but make sure to buy snacks and water at the airport after you go through TSA to avoid getting any of your food or drinks confiscated by them. They will have a variety of snacks and possibly even some restaurants to choose from in just about any airport.

10. Earphones

One thing I seem to forget about planes a lot is that they are LOUD! If you are looking to take a nap or rest during your flight, I highly recommend bringing earphones to tune out the background noise in the plane, and to bump your tunes of course.

img_3497

Journal from Barnes and Noble

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales by Oliver Sacks (recommendation for any Psychology lovers out there!)

Polaroid Camera from Urban Outfitters

Sunglasses from Rayban

One thought on “Travel Necessities!

  1. Shayla Penera

    That ID though 😉 hahahaha so important!
    And seriously about a good book or two, even if you don’t read… An hour into the trip and you’ll be wishing you had just about anything to keep you interested. Paulo Coelho my fav foreva!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment